Sanlam Knysna Awards – the waiting is over!

By January 20, 2016 News and Updates No Comments

The voting phase of the 2015/2016 Sanlam Knysna Awards ended on January 17 with no less than 7,352 votes being received from the voting public in the greater Knysna area – a massive increase from last year.

The Awards reach their climax on Thursday 4th February when the winners will be announced at an exciting gala awards dinner at the Simola Hotel. The top three nominees who gained the greatest number of votes in each of the 12 categories have been contacted directly by the principal sponsor, Sanlam.

Event organisers are thrilled at this year’s response. Pieter Cloete says: “The phenomenal growth of the Sanlam Knysna Awards goes to show that local people are willing and ready to recognize and applaud individuals and organisations who continue to make Knysna a wonderful place in which to live, work and visit.”

Everyone’s a winner

Pieter continued: “There are no losers in the Awards process. Every person and organisation nominated should feel pleased and proud that the public appreciates their contribution to our society. Being a finalist and, ultimately, a category winner is just the icing on the cake.”

The finalists are (in alphabetical order):

Best Tourism Activity Award

Mosaic Village and Outdoor Market

The Jaguar Simola Hillclimb

The Leisure Island Festival,


Best Tourism Establishment Award

Lakeside Lodge & Spa

Leisure Isle Lodge

Pine Lake Marina


Best Eatery Award presented by Barnies Trading

Caffé Mario

East Head Caffé

Freshline Fisheries


Social Media & Online Marketing Award presented by Sozo Digital

Elmarie “Elle” Redman

Penny Foyn (Knysna Golden Girls Community)

Travelbug Rose


Local Charity Award

ePap Childrens’ Feeding Project

Knysna Animal Welfare Society

The Knysna Basin Project


Best Community Leader Award

Cheryl Britz

Christian Jacobs

Marshall Laminie


Sanlam Small Business Award

e4 Electrical

Nine on Grey



Sanlam Business Woman of the Year Award

Ingrid Diesel

Hanlie van Niekerk

Suzi Bilyard


Sanlam Business Man of the Year Award

Carl Ballan

John Metelerkamp

Michael Wilbraham


Young Entrepreneur Award

Duncan Kane

Duran de Villiers

Ian Sparks


Best Service Award

Allsound Security

E4 Electrical

The Garden Route Eye Clinic


Proudly Knysna Award

Magnetic South

Postcards from Knysna

The Jaguar Simola Hillclimb


Finalists, their nominators, friends and families are urged to book their seats for 4th February when the winner in each category will be revealed. Tickets cost R250 per person and include drinks and snacks on arrival, a sumptuous buffet dinner and entertainment.


The event begins at 6.30pm SHARP and will be strictly black tie. Only 120 tickets are available, so to avoid disappointment, BOOK ONLINE NOW at:

Leave a Reply